Personal Independence Payment (PIP)

Personal Independence Payment (PIP) is not a means-tested benefit and is not affected by earnings, other income or savings.

Preparing for a PIP assessment? Watch our video on You Tube.

PIP components

PIP has 2 parts:

  • daily living component for people who need help to take part in everyday life
  • mobility component for people who find it hard to get around

Each component has a standard or enhanced level, assessed under 12 activities, 10 for daily living and 2 for mobility. For both components you need 8 points for the standard rate and 12 points for the enhanced rate.

Do a PIP self-test

Read how to make a claim in the Disability Rights UK guide.

PIP awards

Awards can be for up to 2 years or a longer period, such as 5 or 10 years.

In exceptional cases, where an applicant’s needs are unlikely to change, awards can be ongoing.

All awards will be reviewed from time to time to make sure the support level awarded is still appropriate.

PIP assessments

Existing Disability Living Allowance claimants are only reassessed if:

  • An existing DLA claimant’s fixed-term award is ending soon.
  • An existing applicant is approaching age 16.
  • The Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) receives information about a change in their care or mobility.

All working-age people still receiving DLA will be reassessed for PIP.

If you were 65 or over on 8 April 2013 and receiving DLA, you can continue to receive it as long as you satisfy the entitlement conditions.

How to claim PIP

  • Call free on 0800 917 2222
  • Textphone 0800 917 7777
  • If you cannot answer the questions on the phone, request a paper form.

This page is old. We hope it’s still useful, but we’re working on new content to replace it.

Was this page helpful?

We're sorry to hear that.

Tell us how we can improve it

Need more help?

Opens in a new windowOpens an external siteOpens an external site in a new window